• This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

ECA Community Celebrates season 2023-24 at the Annual Presentation Night

Players, Umpires, Volunteers, Supporters and Sponsors come together to celebrate another great ECA Season

Community Cricket as strong as ever in the ECA

The ECA community farewelled season 2023-24 in style with a relaxed night of celebration at the Grace Park Tennis Club in Hawthorn last Thursday night.
With almost 200 people in attendence, the room buzzed for the entire evening. More than 110 awards were presented to players umpires,and club volunteers for their achievements during the season. ECA President, and emcee, Neil Dalryrmple gratefully acknowledged the support of our sponsors, including our local municipalities on whom the ECA relies on to ensure a viable compeitition.
There were many highlights for the evening, including the presentation of the Eastern Girls and Womens Competion (EGWC) awards in this, their inaugural season. Bendigo Community Bank Director Julieann Byron presented the Bendigo Bank, Dick Menting Award for the best adminstered club to the Burwood Cricket Club who were represented by Club President Kate Bellamy.
Jack Quartermain accepted the Best Turf Ground on behalf of Carey Grammer - the College's second consecutive gong in this category. ECA players who represented the Dunstan, Macgibbon, Wright and Burt Shields in the T20 challenge matches were thanked for their contrubtion to the Association. Trinity Willison's Nick Sparks was awarded the prestigous Stuart Medal (his third) as the best player in the Macgibbon Shield.
Mont Albert's Fats Singh and North Balwyn's Sam Perry were the joint-winners of the Dunstan Medal as the best player in the Dunstan Shield. Both appeared at the event via a video link from their homes in the UK. All the batting and bowling averages winners were acknowledged, and almost all the winners were either at the function or represented by a club delegate. As were all of the players slected in the respective Teams of the Season.

Left to Right: Chloe Scott, Steph Chong and Amelia Wikramanayake from Hawthorn Cricket Club with their Premiership Pennant. Photo Chris Mirabella

Left to Right: STC's Matthew Doran, Angus Hamilton and Dion Di Battista. Photo Chris Mirabella

Danny Law (left) and Damien Jordan from Dingley Cricket Club who won the ECA Vets Div 1 PCFA Premiership. Photo Chris Mirabella

Salesian Players with their LOC 4 - Tobias Shield Premiership Pennant. Photo Chris Mirabella

Deepdene Uniting's Pat Gregory (left) with Rory Smeaton. Photo Chris Mirabella