• This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Match Day

All Match Day News from the ECA

Michael Sparks' form this season looms as a key factor for Trinity Willison in the finals

Boroondara defend 97, pinch fourth spot as Matt Lynas sinks Glen Waverley's season in Macgibbon

Boroondara win the short straw to take on Trinity Willison in semi, who cap brilliant home and away season with crushing win against contenders BUCCC

With fourth spot up for grabs in the final home and away match of the Macgibbon season, all eyes were on the Clifton Hill v Glen Waverley match at Ramsden Street Oval. A Clifton Hill win would open the door to Boroondara, who would sneak into the finals if they won their away game against St Pauls.
At Ramsden Street, Glen Waverley were invited to bat by the home side. Adam Weir (5/31) produced a stunning spell, knocking over Glen Waverley's top order. At 7/83, Glen Waverley's hold on the fourth spot was looking shaky at best. But a dogged fightback lead by Baljinder Singh Brar (56 from 125) and support by the tail, saw Glen Waverley's bowlers have something to defend with 152 on the board. But Clifton Hill were having nothing off it. Matt Lynas (76*) and Stephen Cotter (40*) combined for a 116 partnership and overtook the total in the 48th over. It was a bright spot on an otherwise disappointing season by Clifton Hill.
Meanwhile, at the Southern Oval, St Pauls' bowling attack were rampant against Boroondara. The spoils were shared, but  Sean McKay was the best of the bunch with 3/12 from 13 overs. Ben Douglas (39) got no support from the middle order - and Boroondara were rolled for just 97 from 55 overs. But in an extraordinary turnaround - Boroondara's attack returned the favour and rolled St Pauls for 82, also in 55 overs. Tharindu Rudrigu was the star with the ball taking 5/16 from 20 overs. St Pauls Skipper Kieran Nolan (30) and Vice-Captain Aaron May (17*) worked hard for their side.
At Orrong Park, Toorak Prahran pushed premiership contender Deepdene Uniting to the brink. Lead by Akash Soeny (4/26) Toorak-Prahran rolled Deepdene Uniting for an under-par 179. Andrew Hocking (48) anchored the chase, but wickets fell regularly and it took a tenth wicket parthership of 44 between Adam Peat (25*) and Patrick Gregory (15*) to get the visitors home. Hugo Carson (4/48) was outstanding with the ball for Toorak-Prahran.
The highly anticipated showdown between ladder leaders Trinity Willsion and Burwood Uniting Canterbury was a no-contest. Michael Sparks' excellent season continued; his rapid-fire 70 set the tone and with 270 on the board, despite Dasun Senevirathna claiming an impressive 6/78 from 20 overs. Tom Clarke (5/29) and Nick Sparks (4/40) tuned up for the finals with a dominant display of medium quick bowling. BUCCC Skipper Rishab Guddadamane (51*) got valuable time in the middle, but 3 ducks plus 2 golden ducks offered minimal support. A 128 run defeat is not an ideal preparation for finals, but being the only side to defeat Trinity Willison this season, Burwood Uniting Canterbury still remains a credible contender.

Match Day